A Penny Saved is a

When we were younger my sister used to wear a button that said, “A penny saved is a penny.”   Okay, she didn’t think much of Benjamin Franklin’s saying, “A penny saved is a penny earned.”  I happen to agree with our Founding Father.

There have been proposals to eliminate the penny.  When I was stationed overseas ( I can’t recall if it was Europe or Asia), the penny was not used at AAFES (Army Air Force Exchange Service) or the Commissary.  The amount due was rounded up or down to the nearest nickel.

And do you recall a segment by Andy Rooney years ago on 60 Minutes?  The topic of this segment was the poor, maligned penny.  Folks would bend down to pick up loose change – – quarters, dimes and nickels – – but not the penny.  I vividly remember how Andy Rooney would leave pennies in prominent places but people would walk by.  So, Andy Rooney placed a quarter, a dime, a nickel and a few pennies on the ground.  An individual stooped to pick up the quarter, the dime and the nickel but left the pennies on the ground.

A penny is still legal tender so I stoop to pick up pennies as I walk the dog (stooping, by the way, is a good exercise).  Of course, I am more excited when I stoop to pick up the occasional nickel, dime or quarter.

Those pennies I’ve gathered (and others family members have saved) I’ve put to good use.  During the months of November and December 2009, I wrapped 5,200 pennies.  That’s right, 5,200 pennies or $52.00.  And what did I do with that money?  Made principal payments on my mortgage ( I dragged those 5,200 pennies to my credit union during three separate trips).

All those pennies are helping me to become debt free.  You may think a penny is worthless.  That’s fine.  I’ll continue to stoop and gather them and put them to good use.  🙂

Leave a Reply

