With Mother Nature’s Help, Reducing My Water Bill

Last Thursday I had two rather large rain barrels installed, connected to the gutters descending from the roof of  my house.  And since those rain barrels have been installed, it rained significantly on Sunday.  This morning I watered the flowers on one side of the house with the rain water stored in my rain barrel.  I watered flowers and plants on the other side of the house in part with rain water stored in the other rain barrel.  I have not purchased garden houses for these rain barrels but plan to this weekend.

The rain barrels each have a 500L/132 gallon capacity.  Wow.  And they cost $30 each.   How so inexpensive?  I’ve signed up for the RiverSmart Homes Program offered by the District of Columbia’s Department of the Environment.  Participants in this program pay only 10%, meaning those rain barrels cost $300 each.

Rain barrels are a great way to collect and use Mother Nature’s gift, reduce my water usage from the spigot and thus save money.

More homeowners should consider this option.  Even if you have to pay the full price for a rain barrel, you should see lower water bills.  Hence, over time, the savings will pay for that rain barrel.

1 Comment

  1. May 28, 2010 at 5:25 am

    If I had a penny for every time I came to themoneyheifer.wordpress.com… Amazing article.


Leave a Reply

