Selecting a mobile phone company based on politics?

Today I received in the mail an envelope from an unfamiliar company, Credo mobile.  Apparently this company is more than a network.  a movement.

The front of the envelope states Your phone company should support YOUR values –  not Dick Cheney’s. Depending on your political persuasion you may immediately toss the envelope in the trash, you may be REALLY excited to open it or just curious – seeking more details.

The envelope contained a four page letter. The third paragraph on the 1st page states in pertinent part:

If you’re an AT&T or Verizon Wireless customer, your mobile service provider could be undermining everything you’re doing to change the world – and then some.   Among other things, AT&T gave the maximum legal contribution to John McCain’s ’08 presidential campaign and to the Bush-Cheney ticket. Both AT&T and Verizon Wireless have contributed to politicians who are pro-war, enemies fo the environment and opposed to a woman’s right to choose.

Wow, must politics be a part of EVERY decision I make, every choice I make?  I, as a consumer, should not make a decision based on quality or craftsmanship or price?    The political affiliations of the company should also be a factor in making a decision?  Sorry, I don’t think so.

The envelope from Credo mobile also contained three brochures.  One such procedure, on the flip side, is entitled Building a Better Future  . . . One Phone at t Time. The brochure states.

While AT&T and Verizon Wireless support right-wing politicians, CREDO Mobile backs nonprofit groups that share  your progressive values.

We’ve generated over $65 million for groups like:

ACLU

Center for Responsible Lending

Change Congress

Defenders of Wildlife

Democracia U.S.A.

Democracy Now!

Doctors Without Borders

Energy Action Coalition

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network

Global Fund for Women

Human Rights Watch

NARAL Pro-Choice American Foundation

National Resources Defense Council

Oxfam America

Physicians for a National Health Program

Planned Parenthood

Rainforest Action Network

Union of Concerned Scientists

Women’s Voices. Women Vote

Whether your personal passion is protecting the environment . . . fighting for civil liberties and human rights. . . eliminating poverty and hunger . . . defending reproductive freedom. . . or increasing citizen participation in our democracy –your mobile phone company should be CREDO Mobile.

Make the switch today!

Okay, I’ve contributed to Oxfam America and Doctors Without Borders.  I’ve listened to (though not recently to )Democracy Now!.  Does this mean I am automatically a progressive?  No.

Not sure how Credo mobile determined I am a potential customer.  I don’t like the assumption that because I’ve given money to Doctors Without Borders and Oxfam America that I am a progressive.  Personally, I think it is a HUGE LEAP to assume someone is of a certain political persuasion because of their charitable contributions.

Funny, I’ve experienced the same situation from “the right.”  I’ve given money to Adoptaplatoon and The USO.  I guess these contributions flagged me as “right leaning politically.”   I received a letter with solicitation from Judicial Watch.  The letter bashed President Obama multiple times.  Again, I dislike presumptions about my political affiliation based on my donations.

For the record, I’m a registered Independent.







1 Comment

  1. just my info said,

    June 25, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Nice Post.. Thank for you information.. keep posting my friend’s…
    see my other web :http://thebestblogger.biz pls.. 01:11


Leave a Reply

