Growing Food at Home

I’ve decided to take the plunge and grow my own food.  I started planting and seeding in late May (warm season crops).  I prepared three areas around my house to plant and seed.  The largest area is next to the garage.

I didn’t begin with dipping my toe in the water (maybe that would have been a smarter way to start).  Instead I stepped in the water with both feet.

I have planted zucchini, squash, tomatoes, cucumbers, watermelon, sweet potatoes, bell peppers and pole beans (seeds).  This morning I harvested some zucchini (a few should have been harvested sooner; the other four – I gave two to my next door neighbor and kept the other two) and three cucumbers (only one a really decent size).

Two crooked neck squash are growing, there are small green tomatoes on both the yellow tomato plant and the Roma tomato plant and the tiniest of melons have appeared on one of three watermelon plants.  I’m thrilled.

Not yet time to discuss cost & time and whether it’s all worth it.  Will save that for after the growing season.

Leave a Reply

