Now where did I place those security freeze letters?

Yesterday at the Apple Store I could not obtain the AT&T service for an iPhone without a credit check.   AT&T could not check my credit because of a security freeze.  (I called it a “credit freeze” in my previous post.  Though the process is called a “security freeze” by the three credit reporting agencies,  I’ve found an article from Kiplinger’s Personal Finance in 2007 which calls the process a “credit freeze.”  As noted by Kiplinger’s, “[a] credit freeze is the best defense because it blocks access to your credit report and score, preventing anyone from granting credit to the thieves.” )

I didn’t have time last night to look for those security freeze letters from Equifax, Experian and Trans Union.  I recall I requested the security freezes in 2007.  I could visualize where I maintained those letters.

My problem, however, upon arriving home this evening,  was not finding the letters.  I knew the letters were in a 2007 binder.  I checked a couple of 2007 binders, repeatedly, without success.  Hmmm,  maybe I moved the information to a 2008 binder?  I checked and checked but no luck.  Then I checked a binder labeled “Personal Finance.”  I felt I had stored the letters in such a binder, but as I flipped the sheet protectors, I realized all documents were from 2006. 

I continued checking binders labeled “The House, ” “Credit Cards,” “DRIPs and Credit Union” multiple times.  No luck.  Am I going crazy?  I know I have the letters in a binder somewhere.  I recall the letters were in sheet protectors  along with articles about security freezes.

Eureka!  After more than 2 hours of searching, I recall I stored a “Personal Finance” binder in the file cabinet in the basement.  But I had some work done in the basement this Spring and I removed all papers from those drawers and stored them under my bed (that’s right, although the project has been completed in the basement at least for 3 months, I haven’t refiled those items).

After a few minutes scanning the papers and binders stored under my bed, I find a binder labeled “Personal Finance, 2007.”  And, to my delight, I find those security freeze letters from Trans Union, Experian and Equifax in the same sheet protector as articles about security freezes.

A little nerve-racking for a while.  But now armed with those letters, I can request a temporary lift of the security freeze tomorrow and hopefully, tomorrow evening, will have an iPhone.

Leave a Reply

