Follow-up: not trusting the Office of Tax & Revenue’s numbers

This morning I visited the District of Columbia’s Office of Tax & Revenue. I wanted to find out why the website states I owe $700.19 for the 1st half of 2010 for my condo DESPITE the tax bill stating the amount owed for the 1st half of 2010 was $840.10, which the credit union paid and which the Office of Tax & Revenue acknowledged receiving.

I showed the employee a printout from the website stating I owe $700.19 as of January 30, 2011 for the 1st half of 2010. She looked at her computer screen, after entering information about the property, and stated that’s the amount owed for the 1st half of 2011.

I then noted that the website indicates $700.19 is owed for the 1st half of 2010, not 2011. She told me there’s an error with the software.

The employee told me the tax bill will be mailed on or about March 1st and the amount owed will be $700.91.

I’m happy this matter has been resolved to my satisfaction.

I have a tip to share for a recently paid off mortgage.

Make sure you save a copy (paper or digital) of the previous year’s payment of property taxes. In case there is some discrepancy, you can demonstrate to your local government agency that the property tax was paid.

I attempted to retrieve proof of payment from my credit union’s website. However, because I paid off the mortgage last October, the account information was no longer accessible.

I thus had to call the credit union yesterday. Still unclear to me why the credit union could not retrieve proof of payment for the 1st half of 2010 from its own database. Instead the credit union faxed to me information from the Office of Tax & Revenue’s website. The database the credit union accessed showed no balance for the 1st half of 2010. Good news but contrary to information I obtained from the website.

But now I understand why there was a discrepancy. And now I know the amount of taxes due March 31st, the reason why I logged onto the Office of Tax & Revenue’s website three days ago.

1 Comment

  1. February 23, 2011 at 10:49 am

    […] more here: Follow-up: not trusting the Office of Tax & Revenue's numbers … Related Posts: has anyone with the last two numbers of their social 50-60 … %excerpt% More: […]


Leave a Reply

