Only the United States Postal Service

Today I received in the mail an envelope with a “return to sender” imprinted on the face of the envelope.  The envelope was returned to me because I guess I forgot to affix a stamp (or the stamp fell off).  Looking at the preprinted envelope (with an address for a local church), I wondered, when did I mail this?  I couldn’t recall sending anything to this particular church recently.

When I opened up the envelope, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Enclosed was a check I had written.  The check is dated 4 NOVEMBER 2010.  Today’s date is 28 FEBRUARY 2011.  The Church is located in Washington, DC and I live in Washington, DC.

Hello, United States Postal Service .  Why did it take ALMOST FOUR MONTHS to return this envelope? Absolutely bewildering!!

Leave a Reply

