Using my first “deal”

It wasn’t the first one purchased, though it was the first one purchased from Living Social.  If I remember correctly, it was a 73% discount off the monthly membership of The Sergeant’s Program – Boot Camp.  I signed up for two months.

Started last Tuesday, March 1st.  So far, so good.  The only bad day – when the drill sergeant decided to “send the entire class a message” about arriving on time.  This was last Thursday (something I won’t forget).  Last Wednesday several students arrived late.  The drill sergeant commented that he is particular about starting on time and he noted at least seven students arrived late. 

Well, apparently, for some reason, some students didn’t take these comments to heart.  A few arrived late last Thursday.  The drill sergeant made the entire class do extra push-ups and run extra laps (I don’t mind the extra laps, but hate the push-ups). I believe we did 200 push-ups that morning (class is from 5:45 – 6:45 a.m.  I get up at 4:45 a.m.).  Needless to say, no one was late on Friday.  Also there was a significant drop in attendance on Friday.  Yesterday, we were back to normal class attendance.

Today was a little fun.  I love to jump rope and have brought my own jump rope to Boot Camp.  In contrast, I dislike those flexible, stretchy exercise bands.  Yesterday, we were using the exercise bands.  I apparently wasn’t doing an exercise correctly and the drill sergeant told me I was doing it wrong and was working on my triceps.  I replied, yes, I need to work on my triceps.  The drill sergeant then told the class, “we have a request to do triceps exercises.”  So the next several exercises focused on triceps.

Today the drill sergeant challenged the class asking for any student who thought she (only one guy in attendance today; just two male students) is a good at jumping rope.  The challenge: 50 consecutive jumps; if stop before reaching 50, the entire class has to do 15 push-ups.  I wasn’t going to volunteer.  Luckily, a lady near me did.  She jumped 50 times without stopping.  The class didn’t have to do 15 push-ups but the drill sergeant did. 🙂

The drill sergeant wasn’t satisfied.  He looked at me and said, “loose lips, I thought you were going to volunteer.”  He commented about me bringing my own jump rope and directed me to come forward and jump. 

I started.  I reached about 20 jumps and he stopped me.  Then he told me to start again.  I jumped 97  times without stopping (darn it, missed 100 by 3).

Boot Camp is kicking me into shape, exactly what I need to prepare for 5Ks, 10K  and marathon later this year.

Even though I had heard about The Sergeant’s Program – Boot Camp for several years, I never registered for the class.  But thanks to Living Social and the deep discount, I decided it was worth trying.  And I’m so glad I did.

I have two more “deals” to use which I purchased via Groupon.  Well, actually, one (meal at a local restaurant).  The other deal is for my mother.

Take advantage of the deals offered by Groupon and Living Social!

Leave a Reply

