A credit check to open a savings account?

That’s right, a credit check. I’m not applying for a credit card, or a personal loan or a mortgage. I’m merely seeking to open a savings account.

How many banking institutions run a credit check before allowing someone to open a savings or a checking account? I can’t answer this question.

The only reason why I know this financial institution wants to look at my credit report is because they could not. I have a security freeze in place. That security freeze is designed to prevent identity thieves from opening credit under my name.

The credit report is being misused. Requesting a credit report for opening a savings or checking account is just crazy.

I will press forward nonetheless and temporarily lift the security freeze.

In case you are wondering, First Financial Federal Credit Union of Maryland requires a peak at your credit report before opening a savings account.

Leave a Reply

