Unaware of discount (honestly)

Today I learned from a fellow employee that federal government employees receive a discount with AT&T.   What?  I responded, I know Verizon offers a discount; AT&T does also?  She, a member of the IT department, replied yes, further stating that she believed all major carriers give discounts to federal government employees.

Well, I wasn’t pleased.  Why?  Because I’ve been with AT&T since last August.  That means I’ve been paying FULL PRICE all this time.

When I returned to the office, I called AT&T (about this discount and another matter).  The customer representative, Heather, told me I’m likely entitled to such a discount.  She gave me the following url:  http://www.wireless.att.com/discounts

I followed the instructions – providing my work e-mail address and wireless telephone number.  With the firewalls at my job, it took more than a couple of minutes before the confirmatory e-mail arrived as  Heather claimed.  But, by the time Heather finished  assisting me with the second matter, I received the following e-mail:

AT&T Sponsorship Program

Congratulations!

You are now enrolled in the AT&T Sponsorship Program as an Individual Responsibility User.
You are now eligible to take advantage of discounts on select wireless services and equipment.  Any discounts for which you qualify will appear on your bill within one or two billing cycles.

I’m miffed that I’ve been paying full price.  And I’m miffed that I was not aware of this discount.  But, as a federal government employee, that’s the way things are.  The individuals in Human Resources do a very poor job of informing employees about benefits as a federal employee besides direct benefits such as participation in the Thrift Savings Program (TSP), a 547 retirement plan. 

In contrast, private institutions, like USAA, are always advising its members about the benefits of membership.  The federal government should be doing the same thing.

Well, within 1 or 2 billing cycles, I’ll start to receive that discount.

Moral of the story:  ALWAYS, ALWAYS ask if there’s a discount!

1 Comment

  1. November 1, 2013 at 3:42 am

    prada 店舗


Leave a Reply

