Don’t just grow your own, share

In my second year of gardening, I continue to share produce with my neighbors. It’s fun watching my next door neighbor’s granddaughter, whose eyes light up when given raspberries last month. And she loves it when I give her a tour of the garden and explain what is growing in each area.

But there are individuals who really need such produce. My mother told me that local food banks are now charging a small sum for fresh produce. And the food banks are asking for donations of fresh produce.

I answered the call today by donating 5 cucumbers. They weighed a total of 4 pounds.

If you are growing your own, and have extra produce, please donate to a local food bank.

20110708-104342.jpg

Leave a Reply

