Finally! Discount for paying with cash

This afternoon (before the 5.8 earthquake struck) I stopped by the Beltsville Amoco gas station near the Costco in Beltsville, Maryland. As I pulled into the gas station, I noticed the price for a gallon of regular gas was $3.49 if paying by credit or debit card. Yet the overhead sign indicated a gallon of regular gas was $3.45. Hmmmm. Did I finally find a gas station that REWARDED customers who paid by cash?

I wasn’t quite certain, so upon entering the convenience area to prepay, I inquired. Is there a different price charged for those who pay by cash versus those paying by credit or debit card? The cashier replied yes, cheaper rate if one pays by cash.

Yippee. I prepaid by cash, saving four cents per gallon.

After reading about merchants charging less to customers who pay by cash, it is FINALLY nice to be a beneficiary of such a policy.

Leave a Reply

