Cleaning the car before taking it to the mechanic

I know it may sound counterintuitive.  But think about it.  Yes, the work a car mechanic performs is messy.  And you may think, why bother cleaning it in advance?  Well, I can think of a couple of reasons.

First, if your car looks clean, the mechanic may be more conscientious about ensuring the car looks as clean once the job is completed.

Second, a dirty & filthy car – what does that say about you?  The obvious, right?  So, you always want to make a good impression.  And I know from personal experience about projecting the wrong impression (when I recently attended a wedding, was pressed for time and opted for valet service.  Let me say, the interior of my car was not a pretty sight. Of course, when I picked up my car the next day, the valet never gave the slightly indication that my car was messy but I nevertheless felt so bad about how my car looked.)

So, of course this evening, I visited a local gas station and spent $2.00 to use a vacuum to clean my car.

Dropping off the car tomorrow morning at 7:45 a.m.  I hope there’s nothing major wrong.  Just reached a new milestone with my car maintenance fund:  $3,000!

Leave a Reply

