Amazon Has Daily Deals?

About 2 weeks ago I ordered two books from Amazon.com.  I received the customary confirmatory e-mail and another e-mail that my order has been shipped.

I continued to receive e-mails from Amazon.com and didn’t pay attention at first.  I presumed the e-mails were “Amazon.com recommends”, you know, a message declaring that you ordered product A, you may be interested in product B.

Well, this weekend I finally looked at some of those Amazon.com e-mails and realized Amazon.com has local deals.  Who knew?  Well, at least I didn’t.

Of course those Amazon.com local deals are targeted for my locality (which is based on my shipping address).  Recent deals included half off two hours of house cleaning and half off for high-end tea and spice at a local boutique.  But, upon closer examination, I noticed these local deals are sold by Living Social.  Huh?

And then I recalled reading a Wall Street Journal article from earlier this year (or late last year) that Amazon.com invested $$$ with Living Social.

Okay, I already receive daily deals directly from Living Social.  I don’t need to receive the same offering from both Living Social and Amazon.com.

And, has the excitement about the daily deals evaporated?  For me it has.  Haven’t purchased a deal in months.

Leave a Reply

