Follow-up: Deed not recorded

Over a year ago i blogged about learning that the deed (actually deed of trust) was not recorded with the Recorder of Deeds of the District of Columbia. I paid off my condo on 5 October 2010.

This past week I spoke with the mortgage lending officer at my credit union. During the conversation I mentioned that the credit union apparently did not record the deed of trust.

The mortgage lending officer asked me, is the property in DC ? I replied yes. The mortgage lending officer said the credit union did everything it was required to do. He remarked, there are two people making a $100,000 each and they don’t know what they are doing. He told me this is not the 1st time this problem has arisen with DC .

I sent the mortgage lending officer an e-mail  per his request. He will forward it to the appropriate person at the credit union, who will in turn contact officials at the Recorder of of Deeds.

The situation should be cleared up soon. Scary when government officials don’t know what they are supposed to do!

Leave a Reply

