Reevaluating D.I.Y.

For the past four years I have mowed my lawn. It’s not a completely flat surface. There is a slope on three sides of my property. Mowing my lawn myself has had its benefits: (a) I have toned up, (b) I have received tons of compliments about my beautiful looking lawn, (c) by using a battery powered Neuton Power lawn mower, I was “green” – not burning fossil fuel & the quieter mower did not disturb my neighbors  and (d) after the upfront cost for the mower, I saved money.
Although I saved money, mowing the lawn was very time consuming.

This year I began experiencing a few aches & pains while mowing.  And I began thinking, I’m the only one on my block still mowing my own lawn. Even one of my male neighbors stopped mowing himself and hired someone to do the work.

So, I have tossed in the towel, raised the white flag. As of last Thursday I have hired someone to mow and edge my grass every two weeks at a cost of $55.00. My mother remarked how this two person lawn crew mowed  & edged my grass in about 30 minutes.

image

In contrast, it would take me a good 3-4 hours to mow, edge , sweep & bag.

Sometimes it is really worth it to pay someone else to do the work.  🙂

2 Comments

  1. May 31, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Apologize to my readers: sometimes using a smartphone just isn’t smart when typing this blog. Sorry for the multiple typos.

  2. August 27, 2012 at 5:26 am

    Looks got and somebody made 55 bucks for less than an hour of work 🙂


Leave a Reply

