Why the DC Office of the Recorder of Deeds pisses me off

Because I just wasted 7 quarters feeding a meter so I could get a certificate of satisfaction recorded for a property I paid off on 5 October 2010 (more details about the saga of getting the certificate of satisfaction from my credit union upon getting the certificate of satisfaction recorded).

The recorder of deed is open til 4:15 or 4:30 pm. I arrived in the building at 3:36 pm. I took the elevator to the 5th floor and arrived at the office. I signed in and after a minute or so was asked how I could be helped. I responded, to get a certificate of satisfaction recorded. I was told I needed to arrive before 3:00 pm. In my frustration I asked, so why is this office opened til 4:15 pm? I was told, so the public could access the computer for land records. Hmm, I have never had problems accessing information from home. And I bet very few members of the public actually visit.

Of the course the recorder of deeds is not very public friendly with their hours. And when you see employees standing around chit chatting (being paid with my tax dollars), I am clueless why this agency cannot be more accommodating to the public.

I want six of my quarters back!

Leave a Reply

