Putting unsolicited gifts to good use

I have not mentioned charitable organizations recently. I still receive tons of mail from many organizations seeking donations. Today I received a telephone call from a Vietnam Veterans group (I agree to give a small donation; already support the Wounded Warriors project and give regularly to other groups).

Several charitable organizations attempt to persuade me to donate by offering free gifts. Sometimes the free gift is a wall calendar (I already have 12 calendars for 2013 – enough!). Sometimes the free gift is more substantial such a blanket with a Native American motif or a scarf and glove set.

In honor of Veterans’ Day, I will drop off these unsolicited gifts at the local AMVETS along with clothing I am donating.

I have finally found what to do with these unsolicited gifts. Well, almost (who wants a 2013 wall calendar?).

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

