Unexpected refund!

Received today in the mail a letter from Bank of America and a check.

The letter states

Our records indicate that you were previously enrolled in the Bank of America Privacy Assist Service.

Upon reviewing your account records with our service provider,  we found that while you were enrolled, there was a period of time during which you did not receive all of the benefits of this service.  As a result,  Bank of America is sending you a refund of $59.17.

As your service has since been cancelled, no additional action is required.  You are no longer being billed, and the refund attached below is yours to keep.

This notice only applies to your prior Bank of America Privacy Assist service and does not impact any other accounts you may have with Bank of America

Thank you class action lawsuit and/or government regulators. I assume many more individuals received such a refund.

I terminated the Privacy Assist service between 2007 – 2009. I don’t have any other accounts with Bank of America.

And unexpected refund. Delighted 🙂

15 Comments

  1. Cj said,

    April 25, 2013 at 2:30 am

    Was it a legitimate check? Because I received a refund also.

    • April 25, 2013 at 5:14 am

      Yes, a legitimate check. Deposited the day after receiving. No calls or inquiries from my credit union.

  2. Loren said,

    June 7, 2013 at 6:30 am

    I signed up for PA years ago. While it has alerted me to activity on my accounts all turned out to be ok. I received a check that is quite large. Probably most of what I paid over the years. Does this mean PA is no longer going to be a service of B of A?

    • June 10, 2013 at 9:29 pm

      I don’t know. I believe you and others have received unexpected refunds as part of a larger settlement with the government. Wish I had time to read the WSJ like I used to. I bet this matter was mentioned in an article.

      • Loren said,

        June 11, 2013 at 6:42 am

        I deposited the check yesterday with B of A. The teller didn’t know anything about the action the bank was taking by refunding monies paid for the PA services. I just got an update on my Privacy Assist account so it’s still working for me. I’ll check my next statement to see if I’m still being charged. I think it’s money well spent.

  3. DanielC said,

    September 15, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    My mother passed away 5 yrs ago and her Bank of American account was closed out at that time. It was a surprise to find that not one but three letters arrived on the same day with a refund check each for Privacy Assist Service for my mother. My sister who lives in mom’s old house said she called Bank of America and they are legit checks. She can send letter and death certificate to get them reissued to her. We are wondering however if this indicates that my mom was being taken advantage of at some point. We are wondering why three checks and whether we should look into this more before cashing the checks and forgetting about it.

    • September 26, 2013 at 9:12 am

      I wish I had answers to your questions. Your mother signed up for Privacy Assist like I did. Apparently the government determined there was some fraud associated with this program. Good luck!

  4. valerie said,

    October 5, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    I cashed it at BOA and had no problem!!.

  5. Viv O said,

    October 5, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    Our records indicate that you were previously enrolled in the Bank of America Privacy Assist Service.

    Upon reviewing your account records with our service provider, we found that while you were enrolled, there was a period of time during which you did not receive all of the benefits of this service. As a result, Bank of America is sending you a refund of $210.22.

    As your service has since been cancelled, no additional action is required. You are no longer being billed, and the refund attached below is yours to keep.

    This notice only applies to your prior Bank of America Privacy Assist service and does not impact any other accounts you may have with Bank of America

    Needless to say. I’m laughing ALL the way to the bank!

  6. Erin Crawley said,

    October 22, 2013 at 11:58 am

    I got the refund notice last night! Right on time thank God!! $144.88 🙂 I haven’t been with BOA for a few years now. On my way now to cash.

  7. shalanda beveritt said,

    October 25, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    I to also was banking with BOA and i havwnt heard or seen a check as of yet. Wondering why havnt i is there a nmbervto contact someone if i thnk i am enti type led bur yet to recieve anything please email m as for i am at a lost with no answers ir a check

    • November 2, 2013 at 5:12 am

      You must have been enrolled with the Privacy Assist program to be eligible for a refund.

  8. Susan said,

    December 29, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    I recently started helping my 87 year old mother with her checking account. Imagine my surprise when I found an $8.99 charge every month for Privacy Assist. She was told it would help protect her checking account. I told her it was BOA’s job to protect her account. Trying to get her to cancel it now. I think it’s terrible how they prey on old folks on the phone and scare the heck out of them. She needs a refund. What does she need with a credit score?

    • January 1, 2014 at 5:23 pm

      Susan,
      You are absolutely correct. Your mother does not need “Privacy Assist” particularly for a checking account.

      If you are concerned about someone potentially stealing your mother’s identity, have your mother put a “freeze” on her credit profile. Very effective and much cheaper than Privacy Assist.

      Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

