Beyond just doing her job

This evening I stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few items. Having selected the items I needed , I headed to checkout. I first stood in one line. Then I noticed a shorter line and quickly relocated to that line . The cashier looked familiar; I recalled she worked at the Queens Chapel Giant before it closed.

When the cashier finished ringing up the customer in front of me, she ask the customer, “do you want a free six pack of Coke ? You are entitled to it .” That peeked my interest . The cashier then looked at me and said, “do you also want a free 6 pack of soda.” I
replied , “sure , why not .” The cashier then left the cash register and returned less than a minute later with two 6 packs of soda: Coke &
Fanta Orange. The cashier explained the special this week; if you spend $25 or more on groceries , you are entitled to a free. 6 pack of soda. I was not aware of this deal.

After I paid for my groceries, I thank the cashier. I remarked that not all employees would have taken
the time to ensure we received the deal. And she smiled.

Leave a Reply

